About Us

page tools
Home |
About Us | Board of Trustees
email page print page large type regular font
You have 1 PagePop. View

Hathaway Brown School Board of Trustees

About the Board of Trustees | NAIS Principles of Good Practice | List of Current Trustees | Board Portal Login 

Hathaway Brown School is an independent nonprofit school governed by the Hathaway Brown School Board of Trustees. Hathaway Brown is accredited by Independent Schools Association of the Central States and approved by the State of Ohio. The Board of Trustees conducts business in accordance with its bylaws and the laws of the State of Ohio.

With the head of school, the board determines and guides the character, mission, and culture of the school. As a whole, the board exercises fiduciary duties of care: prudence, good faith, and best interest of the institution are the heart of the board’s work.

The board has three primary functions:

  1. Fiscal oversight
  2. Setting guiding policy
  3. Strategic planning for the future of the school 

The board oversees the implementation of strategy and policies to ensure the financial stability of the school for the future. Policy set by the board is used by the head of school in daily management of the school. The head of school implements the policies and works to deliver a mission-based school experience.

The board hires the head of school. The head of school reports directly to the board of trustees and is responsible for the operational aspects of school, including hiring of faculty and staff and specific student issues.

All trustees are volunteer individuals with a range of affiliations with the HB community. Individual trustees share skills and perspectives with the board as a whole. The board acts as a whole “in trust” of the school to ensure sustained future health of school.

back to top


Hathaway Brown Board of Trustees 2019-2020

Helen Rankin Butler 1987, President
Nancy Swegler Anthony 1971, Vice President
Edward S. Pentecost, Treasurer
Deborah Crawford, Secretary  

Caroline Borrow
Donald H. Bullock, Jr.
William H. Childs, Jr.
Paul Danes
Denise M. Farkas
Lisa Battaglia Fedorovich 1983
Marcia P. Floyd
Kristin A. Gibbs
Asmita S. Goldblum
Stephanie Skylar Hench 1978
Richard J. Jeschelnig
Cassandra L. Johnson 1984
Anne F. Kennedy 1967
Ritu Ahuja Khanna 1997
Riddianne Kline
Bonnie H. Marcus
Holley F. Martens
Paul G. Matsen
Meredith McDaniel McCreary 1970
Laura Sullivan McKenna 1984
Elizabeth Mortimer 1988
Elizabeth DeMarco Novak 1977
Erica Rivera
Margaret Roberts
Michele Johnson Rogers 1975
Manisha Ahuja Sethi 1994

Life Trustees

Martine Vilas Conway 1949
Martha Shierson Harding 1961
Sally Stecher Hollington 1950
Amanda Ford Morris 1944
Edna Dawley Strnad 1942

Lifetime Trustees
Jane Rosenthal Horvitz 1970
Pamela Butler Keefe 1962
Barbara Weber Mixon 1958
Jane Quayle Outcalt 1955
Virginia Brown Van Wagenen 1974

back to top

Shaker Heights, Ohio Girls K-12 Coed Early Childhood

19600 North Park Boulevard Shaker Heights, Ohio 44122 P: 216.932.4214
powered by finalsite