Alumnae News & Highlights

Based on their conviction that school Science should be made real, meaningful, fascinating, and exciting, members of the Warren H. Corning family established this chair in 1983 to seek excellence in science teaching. Having grown up and lived in the rural part of the Western Reserve, the Cornings' interest, enjoyment, and commitment to natural science and science, in general, spurred the creation of the chair. It is named in honor of Judy Cortese, Upper School science teacher and department chair from 1966 - 1983. Upper School Science Teacher Diana McBeath is the 2019 - 2024 Judy Cortese Chair in Science recipient. 

Previous Recipients

2014 - 2019 Mary Kay Patton
2009 - 2014 Beth Burtch
2003 - 2008 Kelly Wilson
1998 - 2003 Joyce Queen
1992 - 1998 Don Southard
1985 - 1992 Jan Morrison

  • Endowed Chairs