Two Seniors are U.S. Presidential Scholars Program Candidates

  • Student News
Two Seniors are U.S. Presidential Scholars Program Candidates

Two members of the Hathaway Brown School Class of 2023 are among the candidates under consideration for the 2023 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program. Hua Fang and Emily Wilson are candidates for their outstanding academic achievement. Participation in this program is by invitation only. These HB students were identified for the program based on their high ACT and SAT scores. 

Hua and Emily are two of 148 candidates from Ohio. The seniors now have the opportunity to be among a prestigious group of American high school seniors who are named Presidential Scholars.

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Commission will further review the candidates' qualifications and up to 161 will be named U.S. Presidential Scholars. All Scholars are honored for their accomplishments through the National Recognition Program, held in June in Washington, D.C. The U.S. Presidential Scholars are guests of the U.S. Department of Education, and they enjoy an all-expenses-paid trip to the nation's capital to meet with government officials and educators. To commemorate the achievement, the Scholars will be greeted by the President of the United States, and they will receive special Presidential Scholars Medallions at a ceremony sponsored by the White House. 

The United States Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964 by Executive Order of the President to recognize and honor some of our nation's most distinguished students graduating from high school. The program is one of the nation's highest honors for high school students.

Hathaway Brown is proud to be the alma mater of twelve U.S. Presidential Scholars:

  • Ryan Brady '20 
  • Yasmine Zein '19
  • Regan Brady '17
  • Lina Ghosh '17 
  • Kavya Ravichandran '16
  • Isabella Nilsson '16
  • Alyssa Bryan '13
  • Laney Kuenzel '08
  • Amy Hollinger ’05
  • Edith Hines Williams '00
  • Caroline Campbell '98 
  • Genevieve Mathieson Kilmer ’96


Hua Fang '23
Emily Wilson '23

More Stories