HB Debaters Advance to Top 64 in IPPF Competition

  • School News
  • Student News
HB Debaters Advance to Top 64 in IPPF Competition

Five members of Hathaway Brown's debate team —Clare Hess, Leyah Jackson, Shrividya Regadamilli, Mahee Shah, and Emily Stringer— received a very prestigious honor when their International Public Policy Forum (IPPF) essays qualified as a Top 64 team internationally. Hathaway Brown School is the only school in Ohio with a team in the Top 64. 

The IPPF is an international competition of written debate in partnership with New York University. It is the only contest that gives high school students around the world the opportunity to engage in written and oral debates on issues of public policy.

The Top 64 teams will now compete in a single-elimination, written debate tournament. Teams will continue to debate the topic, “Resolved: The North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) is an effective model for international cooperation.” Essays will be volleyed back and forth via email and judges will select the advancing teams. This format continues until the final eight teams emerge. Those teams earn an opportunity to compete in the oral debate finals for the $10,000 grand prize!

To learn more about the IPPF competition, click here

More Stories