18 Seniors Are National Merit Scholars

  • School News
  • Student News

Eighteen Hathaway Brown seniors were recognized in the 68th annual National Merit Scholarship Program for their academic talent, as indicated by the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. 

National Merit Commended Students placed among 50,000 top scorers of more than 1.5 million students who entered the competition by taking the PSAT/NMSQT. Six members of the Class of 2023 are Commended Scholars: 

  • Christina Bencin
  • Maddy Bryan
  • Anna Buchner
  • Sahar Maleki
  • Zoë Nelson
  • Emma Ramon

Nationwide, 16,000 seniors were named Semifinalists. These seniors have the opportunity to advance as finalists and compete for more than 7,000 National Merit Scholarships worth nearly $28 million. About 95 percent of Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing and approximately half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship. Hathaway Brown’s Class of 2023 National Merit Semifinalists:

  • Hua Fang
  • Shubhee Gandhi
  • Alison Gunzler
  • Katie Harbaugh
  • Alice Lin
  • Saija Shah
  • Marianna Steele
  • Meredith Stewart
  • Eesha Talasila
  • Emily Wilson
  • Maisie Yan
  • Cindy Yu

To learn more about the National Merit Scholarship Program, visit www.nationalmerit.org.