Our girls are unlimited.
Our girls are unlimited.
Our girls are unlimited.
Our girls are unlimited.
Our girls are unlimited.


Our girls are unlimited.
Our girls are unlimited.
Our girls are unlimited.
Our girls are unlimited.
Our girls are unlimited.

Founded in 1876, Hathaway Brown School is committed to a fusion of academic and experiential learning. This co-ed Early Childhood and all-girls K-12 independent day school focuses on educational innovation and prepares students to exemplify the HB motto to learn not for school, but for life.

HB's inclusive environment, outstanding faculty, and unique programs draw families from nearly 70 communities across Northeast Ohio to a beautiful 16-acre Shaker Heights campus, which houses an aquatics center, IDEA Lab, visual and performing arts spaces, turf playing field, Upper School learning commons, and working television studio. With immersive academic, service, and cultural opportunities, HB graduates attend many of the world’s top universities.

HB is home to nearly 900 students in the Infant & Toddler Center through 12th grade, 41 percent of whom are students of color. Approximately 44 percent of K-12 families participate in the flexible tuition program or merit awards for grades 9-12.

HB maintains small class sizes in all divisions and the student: faculty ratio is 8:1, offers extensive transportation services, and a one-to-one technology program. HB is generously supported by gifts from alumnae around the world, as well as parents, faculty members, and friends of the institution. 

Hathaway Brown is an independent nonprofit school governed by a Hathaway board of trustees. The board is comprised of volunteer trustees with a range of affiliations to the school. 

The board conducts business in accordance with its bylaws and state laws. In collaboration with the head of school, the board determines and guides the character, mission, and culture of the school. The board has three primary functions:

  • fiscal oversight
  • policy
  • and strategic planning. 


Helen Rankin Butler ’87, President
Nancy Swegler Anthony ’71, Vice President
Edward S. Pentecost, Treasurer
Deborah Crawford, Secretary 


Caroline Borrow                          
Donald H. Bullock, Jr.             
Valda Clark Christian              
Paul Danes                                   
Lisa Battaglia Fedorovich ’83 
Kristin A. Gibbs

Asmita S. Goldblum
Stephanie Skylar Hench ’78  
Richard J. Jeschelnig 
Cassandra L. Johnson ’84
Joe Kubic
Dr. Danielle Bradshaw Lane ’90

Bonnie H. Marcus
Paul G. Matsen  
Meredith McDaniel McCreary ’70
Eric C. Morgan
Elizabeth Mortimer ’88
Amy K. Nordstrom

Elizabeth DeMarco Novak ’77
Robert G. Perry
Margaret Roberts
Simran Sethi
Danielle Horvitz Weiner ’00



Life Trustees

Martine Vilas Conway ’49
Martha Shierson Harding ’61
Sally Stecher Hollington ’50
Edna Dawley Strnad ’42

Lifetime Trustees

Jane Rosenthal Horvitz ’70
Pamela Butler Keefe ’62
Barbara Weber Mixon ’58
Jane Quayle Outcalt ’55
Virginia Brown Van Wagenen ’74 

Let's Get Social